Dorothy Wood

Dorothy is active in semi-retirement as a Docent at Palomar Observatory, and doing Astronomy Outreach in various National Parks. She is very interested in the various facets of light pollution from affecting our night vision to the effect of light pollution of various animals.  

Betsy Knaak

Betsy is the Executive Director of the Anza-Borrego Desert Natural History Association, and a charter member and current chairperson of the Borrego Springs Dark Sky Coalition. She served as Honorary Mayor in 2009, the year Borrego Springs was designated the world’s second IDA International Dark Sky Community and the first, and still only, Dark Sky Community in California.

Chip Fox

Board Member

Once a source of wonder, and one half of the entire planet’s natural environment, the star-filled nights of just a few years ago are vanishing in a yellow haze. Human-produced light pollution not only mars our view of the stars; poor lighting threatens astronomy, disrupts ecosystems, affects human circadian rhythms, and wastes energy to the tune of $2.2 billion per year in the U.S. alone.

Edward Rumsey

Board Treasurer & Secretary

Sally Theriault

​Board Member​

Paul K. Erickson

Leader  of the San Diego IDA 

our approach

Other ​Advisory Board Members:

Maris Brancheau

​Lisa Bruhn

Dave Crawford

Will Cronyn

Steve Flanders

Lynn Jarman

Scott Kardel

​Mark Lane

James Rickard

​Terry Weinter

The natural night... a disappearing resource

Edward Rumsey

Ed has recently retired from civil service where his last engagement was Engineering Director at MCAS Miramar.  His currently maintained credentials include:  Professional Engineer (Civil), LEED Accredited Professional, and Certified Energy Manager. 

Ed is an avid amature astronomer, and his volunteer activities include over 10 years of service on the board of the San Diego Astronomy Association, currently the Observatory Director, and a Docent at Palomar Observatory.

Doug Sollosy

Advisory Board Member

Doug Sollosy

Doug is the Treasurer and Member of the Board of Directors for The Julian Dark Sky Network, which promotes the enjoyment and preservation of Julian's dark skies, through astronomy related public outreach programs and activities.

Chip Fox

Chip is Manager of Residential Energy Efficiency Programs at SDG&E. 


Kate Steinauer

Dorothy Wood

Advisory Board Member


Sally Theriault

Sally is a California State Park Interpreter and member of IDA. She has managed the Visitor Center at Anza-Borrego Desert State Park since 2010, and is a charter member of the Borrego Springs Dark Sky Coalition. Responsible for much of the Park’s night-sky interpretation, Sally also wrote and submitted the Park’s application for International Dark Sky Park recognition, which was granted by IDA at the Silver Tier level in January 2018.

Paul K. Ericson, PE, IALD
Design Principal, Electrical, Stantec Consulting Services Inc.

Paul has over 40 years of continuous involvement in the consulting engineering profession with broad design experience and a special interest in lighting design. Paul is responsible for project management including overall concept designs, specifications, and supervision of design personnel.
He is actively involved with the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IES) at the Society level and has received lighting design awards from the IES. He currently chairs the Society’s Computer Committee.
He is a member of the International Dark-Sky Association and a past member of their Board of Directors. He is currently the Chair of the IDA San Diego Section and helped Borrego Springs achieve their Dark Sky Community designation. He is currently working with the Julian Dark Sky Network to help the Julian community achieve a Dark Sky Community designation.

Betsy Knaak

Advisory Board Member​

who we are